UAE suspends passenger flights from Nigeria, Kenya and Uganda

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) has issued a travel restriction on passenger flights from Nigeria, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, and Ethiopia.

The UAE’s National Emergency Crisis and Disasters Emergency Management Authority (NCEMA) and the General Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA) announced on Thursday. The directive, UAE said, is due to concerns related to the spread of the omicron COVID-19 variant and will take effect from Saturday, December 25.

“The excluded categories should present a negative COVID-19 test obtained within 48 hours of departure and a Rapid-PCR test at the airport within six hours of departure whenever possible and another PCR test at the airport upon arrival to UAE. A 10-day quarantine and a PCR test on the ninth day of entering the country is required for UAE nationals, their first-degree relatives, diplomatic missions and golden residence holders.”

Last week, TheCable reported that the UAE placed a ban on foreign airlines from airlifting Nigerian passengers into the country. The statement added that those coming from the four countries through other countries should stay in the latter countries for at least 14 days before being allowed to enter the UAE.

It also noted that UAE citizens are barred from travelling to the four African countries except for emergency treatment cases, official delegations, and scholarships. The new development is coming barely 24 hours after the Federal Government reinstated the daily flights of Emirates Airlines to Nigeria after the UAE authority offered daily flight slots to Air Peace.


About Post Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.